KFC Big Bash League Finals: revamped schedule unveiled

By Our Reporter

The upcoming KFC Big Bash League (BBL) Finals Series, scheduled for 19-24 January, promises to deliver an enthralling cricket spectacle with its newly formatted four-match structure. This eagerly awaited event marks a pivotal moment in Australia’s cricket calendar, showcasing the culmination of a season brimming with skillful performances and intense competition.

Under the new arrangement, the top four teams at the end of the regular season will advance to the finals, a nod to consistency and excellence achieved throughout the tournament. In keeping with tradition, the top two teams will benefit from a double-chance, an opportunity to rebound from an initial setback in their quest for the championship.

The Finals Series kicks off on Friday 19 January, with ‘The Qualifier’—a clash between the first and second-placed teams. This is followed by ‘The Knockout’ on Saturday 20 January, featuring the third and fourth-placed teams in a do-or-die encounter. The intensity escalates on Monday 22 January, with ‘The Challenger’, where the loser of The Qualifier faces the winner of The Knockout, setting the stage for a gripping showdown. The crescendo of this cricketing extravaganza reaches its zenith on Wednesday 24 January, with The Final, where the victor of The Qualifier battles the winner of The Challenger for the coveted BBL|13 title.

All four matches are slated for prime-time broadcast, ensuring maximum engagement with cricket enthusiasts. The much-anticipated Finals Series will air on Seven, Foxtel, Kayo, and receive additional coverage from SEN, ensuring a comprehensive viewing experience for fans.

However, the series faces logistical challenges due to venue availability issues stemming from concurrent men’s Test matches in Adelaide and Brisbane. Should the Adelaide Strikers qualify, their first two finals will be hosted at Canberra’s Manuka Oval, with subsequent games potentially at the Adelaide Oval. The Brisbane Heat, on the other hand, will play their home finals at Heritage Bank Stadium on the Gold Coast.

The venues for the finals have been meticulously planned, catering to various clubs’ preferences and logistical needs. The Adelaide Strikers will utilise Manuka Oval for the Qualifier or Knockout and Adelaide Oval for the Challenger or Final. The Brisbane Heat will host at Heritage Bank Stadium, while the Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder have their respective home grounds ready for potential finals action.

Alistair Dobson, General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, expressed enthusiasm about the new finals format, highlighting its potential to enhance the excitement already generated this season. Dobson acknowledged the challenges posed by limited venue access but commended the cooperation between clubs and venues in resolving these issues. He also pointed out the festive season fixtures and the ongoing thrilling action as additional sources of excitement for fans.

Details regarding ticket purchases for the KFC BBL|13 Finals Series will be released in due course, offering fans an opportunity to witness this exhilarating chapter of cricket history unfold. This season’s revamped Finals Series not only promises heightened competition but also a testament to the adaptive and resilient spirit of Australian cricket.

Support independent community journalism. Support The Indian Sun.

Follow The Indian Sun on Twitter | InstagramFacebook


Donate To The Indian Sun

Dear Reader,

The Indian Sun is an independent organisation committed to community journalism. We have, through the years, been able to reach a wide audience especially with the growth of social media, where we also have a strong presence. With platforms such as YouTube videos, we have been able to engage in different forms of storytelling. However, the past few years, like many media organisations around the world, it has not been an easy path. We have a greater challenge. We believe community journalism is very important for a multicultural country like Australia. We’re not able to do everything, but we aim for some of the most interesting stories and journalism of quality. We call upon readers like you to support us and make any contribution. Do make a DONATION NOW so we can continue with the volume and quality journalism that we are able to practice.

Thank you for your support.

Best wishes,
Team The Indian Sun