Cricket Australia unveils action-packed 2024-25 international schedule

By Our Reporter

Cricket Australia has announced an exciting line-up for the 2024-25 international season, featuring a historic day-night Test to conclude the Women’s Ashes and Perth set to host the inaugural clash of the five-Test Border-Gavaskar series.

The season kicks off with Australia’s dominant women’s team facing New Zealand in September, followed by a series against India in December. The men’s team is also slated for limited-overs matches against Pakistan in November, making way for the stars to shine in the KFC BBL in January.

A day-night Test at the MCG is poised to be a highlight of a bustling women’s summer. Pat Cummins will lead Australia’s charge to reclaim the Border-Gavaskar Trophy from India, starting November 22 at Perth Stadium, a venue where India previously suffered a defeat in 2018.

Perth has been a challenging ground for India, with four losses out of five Tests in their 77-year history against Australia. The series will continue with a day-night Test in Adelaide on December 6, aligning with the new TV rights contract that promises prime-time viewing for east coast audiences.

The Gabba will host the third Test from December 14, followed by the iconic Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests in Melbourne and Sydney. India will be tested at their least favoured venues, but they hold no fear of the Gabba following their historic victory there in 2021.

Australia aims to break a dry spell, having not won a home series against India since 2014-15 and a Test series in India since 2004. Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley expressed excitement for the highly anticipated summer, with the Border-Gavaskar Trophy elevated to a five-Test Series for the first time since 1991-92.

Before the Border-Gavaskar series, Australia will face Pakistan in three white-ball matches in each format, including the first ODI at Perth Stadium in six years. The men’s international summer will commence with one-day cricket, aiming to free up multi-format players for the BBL.

The international season begins in September with Australia’s women’s team hosting New Zealand for three T20 matches in Queensland, serving as preparation for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Bangladesh.

India’s women will tour alongside their male counterparts, with ODIs in Brisbane and Perth running parallel to the men’s second Test. However, the highlight of the women’s season is the multi-format Ashes series, culminating in a day-night Test at the MCG, the first women’s Test at the iconic venue since 1949.

The women’s Ashes will start after the Border-Gavaskar series, with the first ODI on 12 January, and the white-ball leg concluding with a clash at the Adelaide Oval on 25 January. The MCG Test match, spanning four days from 30 January, will be the second women’s Ashes Test played with a pink ball under lights, following the 2017 Test at North Sydney Oval where Ellyse Perry famously scored a double century.

Cricket fans can look forward to a season packed with thrilling matches and historic moments, as Australia’s men and women’s teams take on their rivals on home soil.

Support independent community journalism. Support The Indian Sun.

Follow The Indian Sun on Twitter | InstagramFacebook


Donate To The Indian Sun

Dear Reader,

The Indian Sun is an independent organisation committed to community journalism. We have, through the years, been able to reach a wide audience especially with the growth of social media, where we also have a strong presence. With platforms such as YouTube videos, we have been able to engage in different forms of storytelling. However, the past few years, like many media organisations around the world, it has not been an easy path. We have a greater challenge. We believe community journalism is very important for a multicultural country like Australia. We’re not able to do everything, but we aim for some of the most interesting stories and journalism of quality. We call upon readers like you to support us and make any contribution. Do make a DONATION NOW so we can continue with the volume and quality journalism that we are able to practice.

Thank you for your support.

Best wishes,
Team The Indian Sun