Team Sri Lanka wins Melbourne Renegades Champions League

By Vernon Tissera
Melbourne Renegades Champions League. Photo by Vernon Tissera

It is a summer of cricket with local cricket tournaments on in full swing. In an exciting turn of events, Sri Lanka emerged victorious in the 5th edition of the Melbourne Renegades Champions League for 2022.

Sri Lanka took on a strong Indian outfit in the final, played at Harry Trott Oval, winning the toss and electing to bat first. The team finished on 7/144 with Thaveesh Attanayake (33*) top scoring, followed by captain Ejaz Alavi (26).

The Indian team started off strongly but fell short in the end, finishing all out for 125 in the 18th over with Indian Akshay G Kodoth (c & wk) 62 and Jaskirat Singh at 3/31. The pick of the bowlers for Sri Lanka were Andy Solomons (3/13) and Ejaaz Alavi (3/27) who was named player of the match.

The champions: Team Sri Lanka. Photo by Vernon Tissera

The event, organised by the Melbourne Renegades and Cricket Victoria under the Harmony in Cricket banner, provides an opportunity for players of various cultural backgrounds a chance to represent their nations.

The tournament involves players from across Victoria, from a range of multicultural backgrounds representing teams Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka, and was played across November through to January.

The winning Sri Lankan team members including former Sri Lankan Test, ODI and first-class cricketers, as well as current Victorian Premier cricketers comprised of: Amal Athulathmudali, Damith Priyadarshana, Vinu Mohotty, Andy Solomons, Arosh Janoda, Ruwantha Kellepotha, Ejaaz Alavi (c), Suraj Randiv, Sasith Udayangana, Mohammed Alfar, Malith Cooray, Dilan Chandima, Thivi Salwathura, Nigel Van Der Wert, Mineth Heenkende.

Runners up: Team India. Photo by Vernon Tissera

Support staff included Keith Jansz (head coach), Bathiya Perera (assistant coach), Dihan Nammuni Dewage (team manager), Vernon Tissera and Johann Jayasinhe (media).

The Indian team members and current Victorian Premier cricketers included: Shobit Singh, Yash Pednekar, Akshay G Kodoth (c & wk), Nikhil Deep Pottabathini, Tej Gandhi, Abhishek Beniwal, Ashish Harsolia, Faizan Amin, Saumil Patel, Abhilash Sharma and Jaskirat Singh.

Follow The Indian Sun on Twitter | InstagramFacebook


Spread the love and Earn Tokens