India bound? Get ready for 7-day home quarantine from today

By Our Reporter
Bengaluru, Karnataka, India. Photo by Kartabya Aryal on Unsplash

India’s Ministry of Health and Family Welfare has issued a new guideline for all international travellers arriving into the country in view of the surge of Omicron. From today (11 January), all international travellers will have to undergo a week-long home quarantine and Covid test on the eighth day irrespective of the countries they arrived from.

The Ministry has also increased the number of “at-risk” countries to 19 from 10. These include countries in Europe including The United Kingdom, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Ghana, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Hong Kong, Israel,  Congo, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Nigeria, Tunisia and Zambia.

“The list of countries is being updated regularly based on the prevalent epidemiological situation of COVID-19 in these countries including circulation of Variants of Concern,” the Ministry said on its website.

The guidelines for international travellers asks for a mandatory filling up of Self-Declaration Form (SDF) and uploading of negative RT-PCR test report* for all travellers before boarding a flight.

Travelers from countries ‘at risk’ will have to undergo RT-PCR testing on arrival. They will be required to wait for their test results at the arrival airport before leaving or taking a connecting flight, the guidelines said.

If found negative, they have to home quarantine for seven days, re-test on the 8th day, upload report on Air Suvidha Portal and self-health monitor for the next seven days.

If positive, they have to send sample for genomic testing, admit at isolation facility, take treatment as per laid down standard protocol and discharge at the advise of a treating physician, the guidelines state.

Travelers from countries excluding those enlisted as countries at risk, including the 2 two per cent who are selected for random testing on arrival and found negative, will also have undergo home quarantine for seven days and shall undertake RT-PCR test on the 8th day of arrival in India.

More info here:

Follow The Indian Sun on Twitter | InstagramFacebook


Spread the love and Earn Tokens