IEC 2016 nominations open

IEC Launch event 2016

IEC Awards on 19 Nov at Sofitel

Hockey Australia CEO Cam Vale, City of Yarra CEO and IEC chief jurist Vijaya Vaidyanathan, and ‎Director Cross-Border Business at Pitcher Partners Rohini Kappadath, along with IEC chairperson Vinay Sharma announced the opening of nominations for this year’s awards on 27 May at the Pitcher Partners office in Melbourne.

Each year the IEC organises an annual event to recognise SMEs and executives for outstanding work in their respective fields. The winners are scrutinised by a panel of judges headed by Vijaya Vaidyanathan. This year the nominations are open till 5 September. The winners will be announced at a gala dinner to be held on 19 November at the Sofitel in Collins street, Melbourne.

Businesses and executives keen on nominating themselves can go online on and fill in the application to be part of the awards. “Each year I reiterate on behalf of all the judges how candidates keen on nominating should take their application seriously and fill each and every question with due diligence. Only a serious application stands chance in this competition. Each year the level of competition has shown remarkable improvement and a good application is the key to the awards,” said Vijaya before announcing the nominations open. Vijaya has given leadership to the judging process for five years now.

Director Cross-Border Business at Pitcher Partners and Chair of the Victorian Multicultural Minsiter’s advisory panel Rohini Kappadath has been a vocal supporter of SMEs and the IEC platform. Rohini said its through bodies like IEC that the SMEs and executive can showcase their talents and encouraged new businesses to come forward and nominate themselves.

Vinay Sharma welcomed Jyoti Patel, National Executive Director for Charter Keck Cramer, into the judging panel. Jyotee Patel will be replacing Stephen Manallack.

Vinay thanked Stephen’s services to the IEC fraternity and wished him luck for the upcoming AIBC elections to the Victorian chapter. Stephen is standing to be the president of the AIBC Victoria chapter.

Vinay also introduced a new role in the IEC for advocacy. Geoff Kelly was named as the Key Advocate of IEC. Geoff worked for four of Australia’s top 10 companies, mostly with leaders in getting their ideas across to workforces, regulators, communities and others important to their success. Since 2001, in his own business, he has advised leaders in corporations, private companies, professional service firms and national associations. He is a member of the American Chamber of Commerce, was a founding member of the Small Business Council of Victoria, was a member of Council of the Victorian Chamber of Mines and contributes to several other associations. He will advocate on issues faced by SMEs in Australia.

Speaking to the audience after launching the awards, Cam Vale spoke about the MoS signed between Hockey Australia and Hockey India. Cam said: “Hockey Australia will continue to support the Hockey India League during 2016 to 2018.”

He also highlighted how the Indian men’s team will tour Australia and play in Melbourne close to the IEC awards. Cam told the IEC that he’s in talks with a country neighbouring India for an excitement tour this year.

Hockey Australia will tour India in 2017 for test matches and a tournament.

Spread the love and Earn Tokens