TACA Celebrates Tamil New Year at Rosehill


Tamil Arts and Culture Association (TACA) presented its “Sydniyil Chithiraith Thiruvizha” annual Sydney Chithirai festival to mark the Tamil New Year Day on 143 April. TACA claims that 2000 people participated in the gala Chithrai festival day-long programs at the Rose hill Racecourse. TACA Sydney has been the organiser of for the Chithrai festival the last three years. TACA’s annual signature event brings together Tamils from all backgrounds like India, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Singapore, South Africa, Mauritius and other parts of the world. This is the only Tamil community event promoting traditional arts, culture and food.

The highlight of the TACA Chithirai Festival was the performances by the world renowned Tamil folk singers Thanjai Selvi and Ayyappan, who entertained the attendees with their tradition folk songs and film hits. Traditional folk performances by “Kalaimaamani” TamilSelvi (Karagaattam) and “Kalaimaamani” Natarajan (Kaavadiaatam) were well received by the attendees. The cultural segments also included participation and presentation of variety entertainment of Tamil music and dance items by a large number of local talents and Tamil Schools.

Welcoming the invited guests and the community members, Dr Sundaravadivel, President TACA, said that TACA is dedicated to promoting the interests of Tamils in multicultural Australia. Mr. Anagan Babu, Secretary of TACA, stated that the aim of the festival is to unite all the Tamils in NSW and to provide a platform for promoting Tamil Arts and Culture. Further he stressed the need for recognition and support from the Community Relations Commission of NSW.

The dignitaries at the festival included Hon. Dr. Geoff Lee representing Hon. Victor Dominello, Minister for Citizenship and Communities and Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Hon. John Robertson, Opposition Leader, Hon. Michelle Rowland, federal MP from Greenway, Hon. Julie Owens, federal MP from Parramatta, and state MPs Hon. David Clarke and Hon Charles Casuscelli and other invited guests including councillors and community leaders. The vote of thanks was presented by Mr Muthu Ramachandirin, Vice President.

Indian Community In Sydney, Indian Community In Australia

Spread the love and Earn Tokens