Diversity heroes honoured at Multicultural Awards

By Our Reporter
Image used for representational purposes only // Photo source: https://www.multiculturalcommission.vic.gov.au

The Andrews Labor Government has paid tribute to the many Victorians who helped strengthen the state’s multiculturalism and brought communities together in a year like no other.

In keeping with public health advice, the 19th annual Victorian Multicultural Awards for Excellence—which traditionally draws hundreds of people—was held virtually and broadcast on Channel 31.

This year, 71 Victorians were acknowledged for their outstanding achievements in strengthening multiculturalism through either professional or volunteer service to the community, including winner of the Premier’s Award for Community Harmony Sheikh Alaa Elzokm.

Sheikh Elzokom is the Imam of the Heidelberg Mosque and was recognised for his work building connections between people of different faiths.

The Awards recognise people and organisations who foster cross-cultural understanding, build social cohesion and support people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds, with 15 award categories in total including justice, sport, arts, business and community innovation.

The Multicultural Award for Excellence in Community Response and Recovery was awarded jointly to Sukhvinder Duggal, Vincenzo De Paolis, Gracie Lolicato and Katrina Lolicato, the Islamic Council of Victoria, the residents of the North Melbourne and Flemington public housing high rises and Carlton Community Network.

These extraordinary Victorians were at the front line during the bushfires and coronavirus pandemic supporting families and communities with food relief, emergency aid and information in community languages, as well as providing critical support to Victorian Government emergency responders and public health teams.

A record 450 nominations were received this year, reflecting the extraordinary year that was and the enormous sacrifices and contributions made by so many.

To see the full list of award winners, click here.

Follow The Indian Sun on Twitter | InstagramFacebook


Spread the love and Earn Tokens

Donate To The Indian Sun

Dear Reader,

The Indian Sun is an independent organisation committed to community journalism. We have, through the years, been able to reach a wide audience especially with the growth of social media, where we also have a strong presence. With platforms such as YouTube videos, we have been able to engage in different forms of storytelling. However, the past few years, like many media organisations around the world, it has not been an easy path. We have a greater challenge. We believe community journalism is very important for a multicultural country like Australia. We’re not able to do everything, but we aim for some of the most interesting stories and journalism of quality. We call upon readers like you to support us and make any contribution. Do make a DONATION NOW so we can continue with the volume and quality journalism that we are able to practice.

Thank you for your support.

Best wishes,
Team The Indian Sun