OFBJP Australia celebrates Indian election victory


The Overseas Friends of the BJP (OFBJP) Australia held Vijay Diwas on Friday 16 May at the Burwood Club to celebrate the historic victory of the BJP and Narendra Modi. OFBJP organised Vijay Diwas in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Adelaide as well.

Several well-wishers and supporters of the OFBJP attended the Vijay Diwas at the Burwood Club. Among them were Granville MP Tony Isaa, Hornsby Councillor Gurdeep Singh, Council of Indian Australians’ Mohit Kumar and Hitender Kumar from the Indian consulate in Sydney.

Over 500 enthusiastic OFBJP Australia members and supporters participated in the celebrations in the four cities. The mood was one of joy and elation.

The election results started to trend post noon and soon the anticipation of the gathered crowd turned into jubilation once it became evident that the BJP crossed the magical number of 272. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) collation lead by the BJP secured 337 seats out of 543 seats of parliament.

Ladoos were distributed and excited supporters danced the Bhangra to the dhol.

A number of senior BJP leaders from India thanked and congratulated the OFBJP Australia team via video and audio conferencing, for their efforts throughout the election campaign. In a a video message Gen V K Singh said, OFBJP Australia and NRIs played an important role in these elections.

Indian diaspora, BJP,  Sydney

Spread the love and Earn Tokens