Scotland, UAE qualify for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015


Scotland’s 41-run win over the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on 1 February in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier New Zealand 2014 (CWCQ) has seen it secure the final qualification berth in Pool A of next summer’s ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. Scotland will play two pool matches in Hobart, against Australia and Sri Lanka. Their remaining four pool matches will be played in New Zealand.

UAE also booked its place in cricket’s flagship tournament by reaching the CWCQ final, and as runner-up will compete in Pool B. In Australia, they will play Ireland in Brisbane and face India in Perth.

Tickets to the tournament, which is being hosted by Australia and New Zealand, go on public sale on in just two weeks’ time on 14 February.

ICC President Alan Isaac said: “Congratulations go to both Scotland and UAE for a tremendous effort in reaching the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, and for their exceptional performances. The final was played in the spirit of the game, and I am delighted that fans around the world could enjoy the high standard of cricket.”

The conclusion of CWCQ means that ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 organisers can now confirm the full line-ups of the two pools that will compete for the eight quarter-final berths.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Chief Executive, John Harnden said: “The Qualifier has been full of action-packed matches and emerging heroes, and in Scotland and UAE we have exciting additions to ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.”

“Now that we know the identity of all 14 teams, fans around the country have a full picture of what is on offer at each venue, and in just under two weeks they will be able to secure their seats,” he said.

Pool A                                    Pool B

England                                 South Africa

Australia                                India

Sri Lanka                               Pakistan

Bangladesh                          West Indies

New Zealand                        Zimbabwe

Afghanistan                          Ireland

Scotland                                UAE

For more details of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 fixtures and ticketing visit

Published in The Indian Sun (Indian Australian Magazine)

Spread the love and Earn Tokens